>The Costa Book Awards shortlists 2009

>The Costa Book Awards (initially known as the Whitbread Literary Awards between 1971 and 2006) is one of the most prestigious British literary prizes for writers based in the UK and Ireland. There are 5 categories: First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book. One of these five books is then selected as the overall winner of the Book of the Year. The Costa Book Awards is the only literary prize which places children’s books alongside adult books.

Since 1971, the awards have rewarded a wide range of excellent books and authors across all genres including The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon, Behind the Scenes at the Museum by Kate Atkinson, The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman, Beowulf by Seamus Heaney, Birthday Letters by Ted Hughes, Small Island by Andrea Levy, The Tenderness of Wolves by Stef Penney, Day by A.L. Kennedy’s Day and The Secret Scripture by Sebastian Barry.

Here are the shortlisted books for 2009 in each category :

Costa First Novel Award

The Finest Type of English Womanhood by Rachel Heath • John the Revelator by Peter Murphy • Beauty by Raphael Selbourne • The Girl with Glass Feet by Ali Shaw

Costa Novel Award Family Album by Penelope Lively • Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel • The Elephant Keeper by Christopher Nicholson • Brooklyn by Colm Toibin

Costa Biography Award The Strangest Man: The Hidden Life of Paul Dirac, Quantum Genius by Graham Farmelo (the library has this on order at time of posting)The Music Room by William Fiennes
Coda by Simon Gray (the library has this on order at time of posting)Dancing to the Precipice by Caroline Moorehead

Costa Poetry Award
Angels Over Elsinore by Clive James
(the library has this on order at time of posting)One Eye’d Leigh by Katharine Kilalea (the library has this on order at time of posting) Darwin: A Life in Poems by Ruth Padel • A Scattering by Christopher Reid (the library has this on order at time of posting)

Costa Children’s Award

Solace of the Road by Siobhan Dowd • Troubadour by Mary Hoffman • The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness (the library has this on order at time of posting)Guantanamo Boy by Anna Perera

The award winners in each category will be announced in London on 5th January 2010 and the Book of the Year winner will be announced on 26th January 2010.

This entry was posted in Biography, Children's Books, Costa Book Awards, Fiction, Literary Prizes, Non-fiction, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.