>Edgars Winners 2010


The Edgars, formally The Edgar Allan Poe Awards, are named after one of the first mystery writers, Edgar Allan Poe. The awards are given for the best in mystery in fiction, non-fiction, television, film and theatre by the Mystery Writers of America.

The nominees are too numerous for me to post here but you can read the lists by clicking on this link.

Here are the winners:

  • Best Novel : The Last Child by John Hart
  • Best First Novel by an American Author : In the Shadow of Gotham by Stefanie Pintoff
  • Best Paperback Original : Body Blows by Marc Strange
  • Best Fact Crime : Columbine by Dave Cullen
  • Best Critical/Biograhical : The Lineup: The World’s Greatest Crime Writers Tell the Inside Story of Their Greatest Detectives edited by Otto Penzler
  • Best Short Story : Amapola – Phoenix Noir by Luis Alberto Urrea
  • Best Juvenile : Closed for the Season by Mary Downing Hahn
  • Best Young Adult : Reality Check by Peter Abrahams
  • Best Television Episode Teleplay : Place of Execution, Teleplay by Patrick Harbinson
  • Robert L. Fish Memorial Award : A Dreadful Day – Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine by Dan Warthman
  • Grand Master : Dorothy Gilman
  • Raven Awards : Mystery Lovers Bookshop, Oakmont, Pennsylvania & Zev Buffman, International Mystery Writers’ Festival
  • Ellery Queen Award : Poisoned Pen Press
  • The Simon & Schuster – Mary Higgins Clark Award : Awakening by S.J. Bolton
This entry was posted in Crime, Crime Fiction, Detective and mystery, Edgar Allen Poe Awards, Fiction, Literary Prizes, Non-fiction. Bookmark the permalink.