>Ned Kelly Awards 2010 shortlist


The titles shortlisted for the 2010 Ned Kelly Awards have been announced. The Ned Kelly Awards celebrate the past year’s best Australian crime writing.

The shortlisted titles are:

True crime

Crooks Like Us by Peter Doyle – takes an in-depth look at 1920s Sydney’s densely populated and crime-ridden suburbs such as Pyrmont, Surry Hills and Darlinghurst. Packed with pictures of theives, petty and otherwise, posing and smiling, revealing the character of the subjects

Pitcairn: Paradise Lost by Kathy Marks – analysis of historical relationship between the mutiny of the Bounty, and the subsequent settling by some of the mutineers on Pitcairn Island (plus a considered look at other possible causal factors) and the recently uncovered culture of sexual abuse of the island’s women, which appears to be deeply entrenched in the island’s quirky culture. The author was one of six journalists accredited to attend the 2005 Pitcairn Island trials

Medical Murder : disturbing cases of doctors who kill by Robert M Kaplan

Best first fiction

Document Z by Andrew Croome

King of the Cross by Mark Dapin

Death and the Running Patterer by Robin Adair

Best fiction

The Black Russian by Lenny Bartulin

Bleed For Me by Michael Robotham

Wyatt by Garry Disher

SD Harvey short story award

‘The Fountain of Justice’ by Lucy Sussex

‘Leaving The Fountainhead’ by Zane Lovitt

‘The Travertine Fountain’ by Robert Goodman

Lifetime achievement award

Peter Doyle

The award winners will be announced at the Melbourne Writers Festival on 3 September.

This entry was posted in Australian Fiction, Crime Fiction, Literary Prizes, Ned Kelly Awards, Shortlists. Bookmark the permalink.