>2011 Speech Pathology Australia Book of the Year Awards Shortlists


The shortlists for the 2011 Speech Pathology Australia (SPA) Book of the Year awards have been announced. The award will be presented in Darwin on 18 October.

The SPA book of the year awards aim to ‘promote literacy and the need for good literacy skills, while building a library of resources that speech pathologists, teachers and parents can use to help promote literacy and reading’.

So, here are the shortlisted titles in each category :

Young Children

  • Can We Lick the Spoon Now? by Carol Goess, illustrated by Tamsin Ainslie
  • The Flying Orchestra by Clare McFadden
  • The ABC Book of Cars, Trains, Boats and Planes by Helen Martin, Judith Simpson & Cheryl Orsini
  • One Funky Monkey by Stacey McCleary, illustrated by Sue Degennaro
  • The Truth About Penguins by Meg McKinlay, illustrated by Mark Jackson
  • A Giraffe in the Bath by Mem Fox & Olivia Rawson, illustrated by Kerry Argent
  • JoJo Goes to Playgroup by Christina Miesen
  • It’s Bedtime, William! by Deborah Niland
  • I Found a Friend by Beth Norling
  • Leo, the Littlest Seahorse by Margaret Wild, illustrated by Terry Denton
  • Love from Grandma by Jane Tanner
  • The Little Drummer Boy by Bruce Whatley

Lower Primary

  • The Miracle of the Little Wooden Duck by Margaret Wild, illustrated by Dee Huxley
  • Magpie by Luke Davies, illustrated by Inari Kiuru
  • Duck for a Day by Meg McKinlay
  • Miracle on Separation Street by Bob Graham
  • The Boy and the Toy by Sonya Hartnett, illustrated by Lucia Masciullo
  • Boris Gets a Lizard by Andrew Joyner
  • Hairy Nose, Itchy Butt by Elizabeth Frankel, illustrated by Garry Duncan
  • Shake a Leg by Boori Pryor
  • The Snake and the Boy by Azmen Sebastien
  • Scaly-tailed Possum and Echidna by Cathy Goonack
  • The Important Things by Peter Carnavas

Upper Primary

  • Mosquito Advertising: The Parfizz Pitch by Kate Hunter
  • Red Dirt Diary by Katrina Nannestad
  • The Song of the Winns by Frances Watts
  • Arnie Avery by Sue Walker
  • Harriet Bright: The Star You Are by Claire Craig
  • Now by Morris Gleitzman
  • Nanny Piggins and the Runaway Lion by R.A. Spratt
  • Grimsdon by Deborah Abela
  • Raven’s Mountain by Wendy Orr
  • Head Spinners by Thalia Kalkipsakis
  • Museum of Thieves: The Keepers 1 by Lian Tanner
  • Battle Boy: White War by Charlie Carter

Indigenous Children (a new category this year)

  • Guulaangga the Green Tree Frog by Gloria Whalan
  • Sissy’s Secret by Althea McKeown
  • Walkabout with our Mates by Esther Fischer
  • The Little Moo Cow by John Delacour
  • Sam’s Fishing Adventure by Monique Russell
  • Beautiful Colours by Tina Raveneau
  • Jakobi & Nan by Esther Fischer
  • Our World: Bardi Jaawi life at Ardiyooloon by One Arm Point Remote Community School
  • Fair Skin Black Fella by Renee Fogorty
  • Stolen Girl by Trina Saffioti
  • The Snake and the Boy by Azmen Sebastien
  • Scaly-tailed Possum and Echidna by Cathy Goonack
  • Look See, Look at Me by Leonie Norrington
  • Shake a Leg by Boori Pryor
  • The Devil You Know by Leonie Norrington
  • Peka-Boo, the smallest bird in the world by Eliza Feely
This entry was posted in Children's Books, Literary Prizes, Shortlists, Speech Pathology Australia Book of the Year. Bookmark the permalink.