The Prime Minister’s Literary Awards 2011

Yesterday the winners of the 2011 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards were announced by Prime Minister, Julia Gillard and Arts Minister, Simon Crean.

Now in its fourth year, the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards recognise and reward excellence in Australian literature. This year each category winner is given $80,000 and each shortlisted author received $5000. Click here for the shortlisted titles.

Fiction Prize : Traitor by Stephen Daisley
Traitor is a story of war and love, and how each changes everything, forever. It tells the story of two men thrown together by war in the battle-smoke and chaos of Gallipoli – a young New Zealand soldier and a Turkish doctor.
It is Stephen Daisley’s first novel.

Non-fiction : The Hard Light of Day by Rod Moss
The Hard Light of Day is Moss’ moving memoir of his life in Alice Springs as a young art teacher and his intimate friendship with the traditional owners, the Arrernte people.

Young Adult Fiction : Graffitti Moon by Cath Crowley
Graffitti Moon is a story of graffiti artist Shadow and his friend Poet who haunt the night and the dreams of a girl named Lucy. Told from alternating points-of-view, Crowley perfectly captures the teenagers’ tenderness and their toughness.

Children’s Fiction : Shake a Leg written by Boori Monty Pryor & illustrated by Jan Ormerod
When three boys go into a pizza shop in far north Queensland they meet a pizza-maker, an Aboriginal man, who reveals not only the secrets of great pizza – but the stories that he draws upon for inspiration.

This entry was posted in All and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.