Dagger Award Shortlists

The latest shortlists for the 2011 Crime Writers Association (CWA) Dagger Awards have been announced. 

The CWA Dagger Awards, celebrating the best in crime and thriller writing, are the longest established literary awards in the UK and are internationally recognised as a mark of excellence and achievement. To be eligible, books must have had their first UK publication between 1 June 2010 and 31 May 2011.  Over the years the number of CWA Daggers has increased (and occasionally decreased). Currently nine Daggers are awarded annually by the CWA (Diamond, Gold, Steel, John Creasey, International, Non-fiction, Dagger in the Library, Short Story, Debut and Historical).

Unlike other awards, the shortlists and winners are not announced all at the same time. Several awards have already been given :

The latest Dagger Award shortlists to be announced are:

CWA Gold Dagger for the Best Crime Novel of the Year

This is the most illustrious prizes in the crime writing world.

CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger 2011

This category os for thrillers which can be set in any period and include, but are not limited to, spy fiction and/or action/ adventure stories. Ian Fleming said there was one essential criterion for a good thriller – that ‘one simply has to turn the page’.

The CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger 2011

This award is made in memory of CWA founder John Creasey, for first books by previously unpublished writers.

The winners of these shortlists will be announced at The Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards on Friday 7th October.

Still to be announced is the shortlist for the Ellis Peters Historical Award 2011.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.