2012 – The National Year of Reading – February

This month’s Love2Read theme is the funniest one in the National Year of Reading – Laugh

I love to have a good laugh and I imagine I’ll get to the end of the year with this month having been my favourite – unless I find some real tear-jerker in November when it will be time to Cry which I also love to do.

I’m sure you’ve all heard the saying that laughter is the best medicine.  Did you know that laughter stimulates five different parts of the brain, so reading something humorous can actually help keep your brain from aging? (another good reason to read something fun!).

We can be laughing because we find something is funny or is giving us joy or we can laugh out of embarrassment or even because we are nervous – I was always getting into trouble when getting into trouble when I was a girl because I’d get (nervous) giggles. (Did I say ‘always’? I meant of course, on the odd occasion when I got in trouble . .  .)

So what kind of reading makes you laugh?  Do you like black humour, comedy, joke books, satire or parody?  Do you giggle, chuckle or laugh out loud?

My very favourite EVER piece of writing is by Bill Bryson. I always enjoy Bryson’s lively, humourous take on life and fell in love with him years ago when reading Notes from a Small Island, his affectionate look at Britain and the British. He always makes me smile but Chapter 7 I think it is of Down Under (aka In a Sunburned Country for our North American friends) where he writes about cricket had me breathless with laughter and in tears as I attempted to read it aloud to my husband.

Do you find humour where you shouldn’t sometimes?  A year or so ago, my book group read Skeleton Coast by Clive Cussler, a rip-roaring thriller with plenty of derring-do but some of the uses of technology really stretched the boundaries of reality for me.   I remember one scene where the hero takes off his false leg and uses the flare which just happens to be inside it to weld his false leg to some kind of round plate and paraglided across the desert to catch up with a caravan – again, impossible to read it aloud.

While you are reading the things that make you laugh, you might like to tweet about what you are reading using #NYR12 so that other people can have a conversation with you about your reading, and join you in laughing.

There will be a live twitter discussion on February 28th starting at 8pm Australian Eastern Standard Time.  Use the tag #NYR12 as you discuss the reading that makes you laugh, so others can join in the conversation too.

Just to remind you, this is what the rest of the year has in store :

  • February : Laugh
  • March : Think
  • April : Feel
  • May : Escape
  • June : Dream
  •  July : Discover
  • August : Question
  • September : Grow
  • October : Explore
  • November : Cry
  • December : love2read
Posted on January 31, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on 2012 – The National Year of Reading – February.

Comments are closed.

