Queensland Literary Awards


The Queensland Literary Awards were established in April 2012 in response to Queensland Premier Campbell Newman’s decision to cancel the Queensland Premier’s Literary Awards. A small group from the literary and arts community quickly formed and decided to run the inaugural 2012 Queensland Literary Awards to ensure continued recognition of writers.

Here are the shortlisted entries in some of the categories.

Science Book Award

Robyn Arianrhod for Seduced by Logic
Frank Bowden for Gone Viral
Rob Brooks for Sex, Genes and Rock ‘n’ Roll
Dr Richard Smith for Australia: The Time Traveller’s Guide

History Book Award


Peter Carey for The Chemistry of Tears
Anna Funder for All That  I Am
Kate Grenville for Sarah Thornhill
Alex Miller for Autumn Laing    
Frank Moorhouse for Cold Light


Robin de Crespigny for The People Smuggler
Jane Gleeson-White for Double Entry
Patrick Holland for Riding the Trains in Japan
William McInnes & Sarah Watt for Worse Things Happen at Sea
Alice Pung for Her Father’s Daughter

Australian Short Story collection – Steele Rudd Award

Rodney Hall for Silence
Marion  Halligan for Shooting the Fox 
John Kinsella for In the Shade of the Shady Tree
Ryan O’Neill for The Weight of a Human Heart
Janette Turner Hospital for Forecast: Turbulence

Judith Wright Calanthe Poetry Award

Anthony Lawrence for The Welfare of my Enemy
David McCooey for Outside
Rhyll McMaster for Late Night Shopping
Peter Rose for Crimson Crop
Simon West for The Yellow Gum’s Conversion 

Children’s Book Award

Pamela Rushby for The Horses Didn’t Come Home
John Flanagan for Brotherband: The Outcasts
Libby Gleeson & Freya Blackwood for Look, a Book!
Elizabeth Honey for Ten Blue Wrens
Briony Stewart for Kumiko and the Shadow Catchers

Young Adult Book Award

Kirsty Eagar for Night Beach
Neil Grant for The Ink Bridge
Judith Clarke for Three Summers
Margo Lanagan for Sea Hearts
Vikki  Wakefield for All I ever wanted
See the full list of categories and shortlisted entries here and some lovely images here.
The winners will be announced on 4 September 2012
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.