Read Watch Play 2013 – January : Re Read

You got the heads up about it yesterday, now are you ready to go with Read Watch Play?

January’s theme is Re Read. 

No matter what the season, it’s always a good time to pick up your favourite book and read it again, read a controversial book for a second time a decade later, or reread a book you first read at 16 at 30 or 60 to see if it still has the same impact or has improved on re-reading. You may also consider re-watching that favourite movie or television series, re-playing (again) that game which had you hooked so many years/months/weeks/days ago.

Are there some books or authors you go back to again and again?

Every year or two I re-read Wuthering Heights. It seemed such a drag when we had to read it at school but I re-read it in my late 20s and just fell in love with it. I love the 1939 film with Laurence Olivier and Merle Oberon as Heathcliff and Cathy. Finding me in the dark with tears flooding down my cheeks, Olivier and Oberon doing their over-dramatic best, my husband said incredulously, “You’re enjoying that, aren’t you?”

Another favourite is To Sir With Love, the semi-autobiographical novel by E R Braithwaite. And who can resist the beautiful Sidney Poitier as Mark Thackeray, the ‘Sir’ of the title? Not me anyway.

The Great Gatsby by F Scott Fitzgerald, on the other hand, leaves me as cold and disinterested now as it did in high school. BOTH my book groups have chosen to read it in the past two years so I know what I’m talking about and I wish they’d stop it!!

While you are reading your Re Read perhaps you might like to tweet about it using the #rwpchat and #reread hashtags so that other people can have a conversation with you about your reading (or your watching and playing), and join you in remembering and revising opinions.  You may be having your reading discussion face to face in a book group, or somewhere online.  You might post pictures for Flickr, write a comment on this blog, or your own blog. 

There will be a live twitter discussion on January 29th starting at 8.00pm Australian Eastern Standard Time.  Use the tags #rwpchat and #reread as you discuss what you are rereading, re-watching, re-playing so others can join in the conversation too.

Posted on January 2, 2013, in Books and reading, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Read Watch Play 2013 – January : Re Read.

Comments are closed.

