“A feast of reading”

The Trust Company, as Trustee of the Miles Franklin Literary Award has today announced the 2013 longlist for Australia’s most prestigious literary award.  From an original list of 73 novels, the Judges have selected 10 for longlist this year. The longlist includes eight female authors (the largest number of female authors selected since the longlist was first introduced in 2005), five first time novelists, four previously shortlisted authors and one former double Miles Franklin Literary Award winner.

On behalf of the judging panel, Richard Neville, Mitchell Librarian, State Library of NSW said: “This year we have seen one of the highest number of entries indicating the robust strength of new fiction. From those 73 books the judges have selected ten outstanding novels for this year’s longlist.

“These range from conventional to multiple narratives, with settings as diverse as a lonely lighthouse, battlefield hospitals on the Western Front, colonial Papua New Guinea, the dusty outback and the inner city. The list provides a feast of reading, including close encounters with a polio-stricken girl determined to be an artist, a young boy kidnapped by his runaway mother, an unexpected shipwreck adoption, a family of kookaburras, a rock journalist and a famously shambolic poet.”

The 2013 longlist includes:

Floundering by Romy Ash

Lola Bensky by Lily Brett

Street to Street by Brian Castro

Questions of Travel by Michelle de Kretser

 The Beloved by Annah Faulkner

 The Daughters of Mars by Tom Keneally

 The Mountain by Drusilla Modjeska

The Light Between Oceans by M.L.Stedman

Mateship with Birds by Carrie Tiffany

Red Dirt Talking by Jacqueline Wright

The Trust has launched the Miles of Reading Challenge which asks Australian readers to support Australian literature by reading at least one novel from the longlist. You can submit your own reviews of longlist novels via the Miles of Reading online forum for the chance to win copies of Miles Franklin’s celebrated novels. You can also follow events and contribute to the discussion on Twitter @_milesfranklin.

The Miles Franklin 2013 shortlist will be announced on Tuesday 30 April 2013 and the winner will be announced on Wednesday 19 June.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.