Read Watch Play Twitter Reading Group – October : Egoread

This month, prompted by the #egoread theme, I thought I’d take myself back to the spring of 2006 and our ‘big’ family holiday to Britain, Cyprus and Athens. We took that holiday knowing it was likely to be the last family holiday with all members of the family together.  I bought a journal and intended for all the family to write about the trip as it happened so we had a shared memory. It all started well with each member of the family writing a little bit at Sydney airport but that was the last time anyone but me wrote anything. But I did write something every day and it was lovely to relive our holiday with the photos at my side and tickets and brochures in the journal to browse through.

Two memoirists I’ve also loved are the incomparable Aussie author Clive James and British blue-stocking Diana Athill. I’ve been dipping in and out of her collected memoirs for over a year now. Have you given them a go? What has been your #egoread this month?

Share with us by joining this month’s live twitter discussion next Tuesday 29 October starting at 8pm Australian Eastern Standard Time. Use the tags #egoread and #rwpchat as you discuss your furry reading, watching and playing.

The Twitter book group meets on the last Tuesday of every month so pop that in your diary, smartphone, MS Outlook, or tattoo it on your arm. Just remember and join in!

Posted on October 22, 2013, in Books and reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Read Watch Play Twitter Reading Group – October : Egoread.

Comments are closed.

