The 2014 Stella Prize shortlist

The judges of the Stella Prize (Kerryn Goldsworthy (chair); Annabel CrabbBrenda WalkerFiona Stager; and Tony Birch) have issued their shortlist of six titles.

Awarded to celebrate Australian women’s writing, the shortlist for this year includes :

Burial Rites by Hannah Kent – a novel is based on the true story of the trial and death of the last woman to be executed in Iceland, Agnes Magnúsdóttir.

Kent, Hannah_cover image

Night Games: Sex, Power and Sport by Anna Krien – explores the facts, the claims and the ramifications surrounding a court case in which a Melbourne footballer was tried for the rape of a young woman

Krien, Anna_cover image

The Night Guest by Fiona McFarlane – an exploration of dementia and ageing

McFarlane, Fiona_cover image

Boy, Lost: A Family Memoir by Kristina Olsson – Kristina Olsson’s story about her half-brother Peter, stolen by his father from his mother’s arms

Olsson, Kristina_cover image

The Swan Book by Alexis Wright – a “brilliantly surreal and inventive novel about imagination and the power of story” set 100 years in Australia’s future

Wright, Alexis_cover image

The Forgotten Rebels of Eureka by Clare Wright – on the role of women on the Ballarat goldfields in the years leading up to the Eureka Stockade

Wright, Clare_cover image

The 2014 Stella Prize will be awarded in Sydney on Tuesday 29 April.

The winner’s prize is $50,000. The other five shortlisted authors will also receive prize money of $2000, courtesy of the Nelson Meers Foundation.

This entry was posted in Literary Prizes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.