Author in Conversation – Stephanie Bishop with Geordie Williamson

Sunday July 5 at 3pm ~ Blue Mountains Theatre and Community Hub, Springwood.

Your Blue Mountains Library and The Turning Page Bookshop present a very special ‘author in conversation’ event.

Celebrated author, Stephanie Bishop, will be discussing her new book, The Other Side of the World with The Australian’s Chief Literary Critic, Geordie Williamson.

Other Side of the World

‘ In the tradition of Rachel Cusk’s A Life’s Work or Maggie O’Farrell’s The Hand That First Held Mine comes a complex, tender and gorgeously written novel of parenthood, love and marriage that is impossible to put down.

Cambridge 1963. Charlotte struggles to reconnect with the woman she was before children, and to find the time and energy to paint. Her husband, Henry, cannot face the thought of another English winter. A brochure slipped through the letterbox gives him the answer: ‘Australia brings out the best in you’. Charlotte is too worn out to resist, and before she knows it is travelling to the other side of the world. But on their arrival in Perth, the southern sun shines a harsh light on both Henry and Charlotte and slowly reveals that their new life is not the answer either was hoping for. Charlotte is left wondering if there is anywhere she belongs, and how far she’ll go to find her way home…’ Goodreads, June 2015

Tickets only $10 includes afternoon tea.

Book through Springwood Library or The Turning Page Bookshop ~ Ph: 4751 5171. Stephanie Bishop 1 credit Craig Peihopa

 

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.