Carolyn’s Books of the Month – September

Best Read:  Karolina’s Twins by Ronald H.Balson

 A saga inspired by true events of a Holocaust survivors quest to fulfill a promise, return to Poland and find two sisters lost during World War II.

 Crime:  The Girl Before by J.P.Delaney

 Jane stumbles on the opportunity of a lifetime: thechance to live in a beautiful minimalist house designed by an enigmatic architect, on condition she abides by a long list of rules. After moving in, she discovers that a previous tenant, Emma, met a mysterious death there – and starts to wonder if her own story will be a re-run of the girl before.

 Australian Author:  A Tattooed Heart by Deborah  Challinor

The fourth and final book in the Convict Girls saga from author Deborah Challinor, bringing the past and its people to life. 1832: Convict girls Friday Woolfe, Sarah Morgan and Harriet Clarke have been serving their sentences in Sydney Town for three years.

General: Pachinko by Min Jin Lee

A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity.

Thriller: War Cry by Wilbur Smith

The next Courtney family adventure introducing the bravest new member of the family, Saffron Courtney.

Thriller: The Other Hand (AKA Little Bee) by Chris Cleave

The lives of a sixteen-year-old Nigerian orphan and a well-off British woman collide in this page-turning #1 New York Times bestseller and book club favorite from Chris Cleave.
We don’t want to tell you too much about this book. It is a truly special story and we don’t want to spoil it. Nevertheless, you need to know something, so we will just say this: It is extremely funny, but the African beach scene is horrific. The story starts there, but the book doesn’t. And it’s what happens afterward that is most important. Once you have read it, you’ll want to tell everyone about it. When you do, please don’t tell them what happens either. The magic is in how it unfolds.

Saga/Romance: Among the Lemon Trees by Nadia Marks

She had thought that they would be together forever, but Max’s betrayal leaves Anna questioning their marriage and fearing the future. So when her elderly widowed father invites her to spend the summer with him on the small Aegean island of his birth, Anna agrees – unaware that a chance discovery is about to unleash a host of family secrets.

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.