Prime Minister’s Literary Awards 2017

This year marks 10 years since the first Prime Minister’s Literary Awards took place in 2008.

Prime Minister Malcom Turnbull and Minister for the Arts Mitch Fifield have announced the shortlist for the 2017 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards.

The 30 shortlisted books showcase the breadth and depth of Australia’s literary talent across six categories—fiction, non-fiction, Australian history, young adult fiction, children’s fiction and poetry.

If the fiction shortlist looks familiar it is because four out of five of the novels were also nominated for the Miles Franklin Award. Can Josephine Wilson’s Extinctions win again? Wilson also won the inaugural Dorothy Hewett award for unpublished manuscripts for Extinctions in 2015.

The fiction nominees are:

The Easy Way out by Steven Amsterdam

Book cover of The Easy Way Out by Steven Amsterdam


The Last Days of Ava Langdon by Mark O’Flynn

Book cover of The Last Days of Ava Langdon by Mark O'Flynn


Their Brilliant Careers by Ryan O’Neill

Book cover of Their Brilliant Careers by Ryan O'Neil


Waiting by Philip Salom

Bock cover of book Waiting by Philip Salom


Extinctions by Josephine Wilson

Book cover of Extinctions by Josephine Wilson


This entry was posted in Literary Prizes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.