2021 Miles Franklin Winner

The Labyrinth by Amanda Lohrey

Acclaimed Tasmanian author Amanda Lohrey has been awarded Australia’s prestigious Miles Franklin Literary Award for her novel The Labyrinth, published by Text Publishing.

Seven-time novelist Ms Lohrey has appeared on the Miles Franklin longlist three times and on the shortlist twice, making this a well-deserved win. Ms Lohrey will receive $60,000 in prize money for The Labyrinth. She is the second Tasmanian author to be honoured with the Award in its 64-year history.

On winning the award, Ms Lohrey said, “It’s a tremendous honour to be associated with the remarkable Stella Miles Franklin, one of the great Australian mavericks.

“Awards like the Miles Franklin are so valuable because in attracting public attention they help Australian literature to flourish, and to compete with imported books. And that’s important because Australian literature is not an add on, a mere diversion, a sideshow to the main game. It sits at the heart of our national culture.”

Ms Lohrey now joins a group of distinguished and revered alumni of Miles Franklin prize winners, including last year’s winner Tara June Winch (for The Yield), and fellow Tasmanian, the late Christopher Koch (for The Doubleman, in 1985 and Highways to a War, in 1996).

Taken from the Perpetual website

The 2021 winner announcement was streamed live on 15 July at 4pm and can be viewed via the following link: www.perpetual.com.au/milesfranklin

For further information about the Miles Franklin Literary Award, visit http://www.milesfranklin.com.au/

This entry was posted in Books and reading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.