Blog Archives

Carolyn’s Books of the Month – September

Best Read:  Karolina’s Twins by Ronald H.Balson

 A saga inspired by true events of a Holocaust survivors quest to fulfill a promise, return to Poland and find two sisters lost during World War II.

 Crime:  The Girl Before by J.P.Delaney

 Jane stumbles on the opportunity of a lifetime: thechance to live in a beautiful minimalist house designed by an enigmatic architect, on condition she abides by a long list of rules. After moving in, she discovers that a previous tenant, Emma, met a mysterious death there – and starts to wonder if her own story will be a re-run of the girl before.

 Australian Author:  A Tattooed Heart by Deborah  Challinor

The fourth and final book in the Convict Girls saga from author Deborah Challinor, bringing the past and its people to life. 1832: Convict girls Friday Woolfe, Sarah Morgan and Harriet Clarke have been serving their sentences in Sydney Town for three years.

General: Pachinko by Min Jin Lee

A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity.

Thriller: War Cry by Wilbur Smith

The next Courtney family adventure introducing the bravest new member of the family, Saffron Courtney.

Thriller: The Other Hand (AKA Little Bee) by Chris Cleave

The lives of a sixteen-year-old Nigerian orphan and a well-off British woman collide in this page-turning #1 New York Times bestseller and book club favorite from Chris Cleave.
We don’t want to tell you too much about this book. It is a truly special story and we don’t want to spoil it. Nevertheless, you need to know something, so we will just say this: It is extremely funny, but the African beach scene is horrific. The story starts there, but the book doesn’t. And it’s what happens afterward that is most important. Once you have read it, you’ll want to tell everyone about it. When you do, please don’t tell them what happens either. The magic is in how it unfolds.

Saga/Romance: Among the Lemon Trees by Nadia Marks

She had thought that they would be together forever, but Max’s betrayal leaves Anna questioning their marriage and fearing the future. So when her elderly widowed father invites her to spend the summer with him on the small Aegean island of his birth, Anna agrees – unaware that a chance discovery is about to unleash a host of family secrets.

Advertisements

Carolyn’s Books of the Month – July 2017

Best Read : Lyrebird by Cecilia Ahern

Crime : Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz

Australian Author : The Better Son by Katherine Johnson

General : Our Song by Dani Atkins

Thriller : The Bone Field by Simon Kernick

Thriller : The Girl Before by Rena Olsen

Saga/Romance : The Chocolate Tin by Fiona McIntosh

Carolyn’s Books of the Month – June 2017

carolyns-books-of-the-monthCarolyn reads a variety of genres so you’re bound to find something that resonates.

Best Read :  The Obsession by Nora Roberts

Crime :  My Sister’s Secret by Tracy Buchanan

Australian Author : Fearless by Fiona Higgins

General Fiction :  Homegoing by Yaa  Gyasi

Thrillers : Marked for Life by Emelie Schepp  and Good Me, Bad Me by Ali Land

Saga/Romance : Ruby Flynn by Nadine Dorries

 

Carolyn’s Books of the Month – May 2017

carolyns-books-of-the-monthBest Read : The pearl that broke its shell by Nadia Hashimi

Crime : Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey

Australian Author : The wrong hand by Jane Jago

General : The evening chorus by Helen Humphreys

Thrillers : Behind closed doors by B.A.Paris and Kill file by Christopher Farnsworth

Saga/Romance : Florence Grace by Tracy Rees

Carolyns books display

Carolyn’s Books of the Month – April 2017

carolyns-books-of-the-monthSo how to spend a rainy afternoon?  Carolyn has some suggestions for you:

Best Read : Small, Great Things by Jodi Picoult

Crime : No Man’s Land by David Baldacci

Australian Author : Only Daughter by Anna Snoekstra

General : Truly, Madly, Guilty by Liane Moriarty

Thrillers : The Wrong Side of Goodbye by Michael Connelly and Blood Symmetry by Kate Rhodes

Saga/Romance : Dead to Me by Lesley Pearse

Carolyns books display

Carolyn’s Books of the Month – March 2017

carolyns-books-of-the-monthCarolyn reads a variety of genres so you’re bound to find something that resonates.

Best Read : The Last Painting of Sara De Vos by Dominic Smith

Crime : Home by Harlan Coben

Australian Author : Blame by Nicole Trope

General Fiction : Leave Me by Gayle Forman

Thrillers : The Couple Next Door by Shari Larpena  and The Watcher in the Wall by Owen Laukkanen

Saga/Romance : The Sound Of Glass by Karen White

Carolyns books display

%d bloggers like this: